In this article, Guy Battle and Christopher McCarthy talk about climate awareness and natural systems of heating and cooling in association with architectural design.  The part of this article that spoke to me the most was the surveys of people that concluded in finding that most building residents preferred natural lighting and ventilation to tightly controlled  interior climate control, including air conditioning.  It goes on to say that people’s tolerance of climate changes is increased when in buildings that allow choices, such as opening or closing a window, pulling shades or not, and other personal decisions that affect the user’s comfort.

“But in buildings where people can open the window and experience the external climate conditions, their expectations become adjusted to the seasons, and their tolerance of variation increases dramatically.”

This really made me think about what I could design in the future, from studio to the real world.  I had never sat down and thought about why I like places with operable windows and the like, but I now realize that, no matter what the season, I adapt to the climate and make my personal climate choices accordingly.  In fact, in planning and designing a low-cost, sustainable school for a village in Honduras as a part of Global Architecture Brigades, we took into account this type of thinking.  In our design we utilized cross-breezes, reflected light, and windows to vent out heat in order to make the school a more enjoyable and personally comfortable place to experience.

