Over this semester, as I gained an increasing knowledge of systems and how they work in relation to architecture, I started thinking about my own living space and how this knowledge might be applied.  In my room alone I have several heating and cooling methods: air conditioning, a celing fan, windows, and a radiator.  These four variables all contribute to how my personal space feels throughout the day and night.  However, not all of these factors work together in harmony, as I came to discover the other night.

As I got back to my house after a long drive from my home in Rhode Isalnd to my second home here in Charlottesville, I noticed that the heat was set unusually high.  When I got to my room, I found myself in a systems-induced state of shock.  Not only was the radiator blasting extreme heat into every corner of the room, but the air conditioner was set at a cool 68 degrees, the celing fan was whirring, and two of the three windows were wide open.  The room itself was at an overall decent temperature, but I couldn’t help but think of all the energy being wasted in this one room, let alone the entire house.  Our house’s system of climate control had been upset by an unexpected and unexplained tweak in the thermostat that, in turn, forced us to use even more energy to cool it back down to normal room temperature.

